Sunday, November 6, 2011

Discussion about Drake

Tonight my friend and I had a random conversation about Drake, the rapper

K: "Canadians can rap."

S: "Nope..."
K: "Maestro Fresh Wes"
S: "Its not that he is Canadian."
S: "its that he was on a teenage a soap opera and I cant take him seriously..."
S: "I just picture him in a wheel chair...playing Jimmy on Degrassi, and it ruins his potential bad-assery."
K: "True"
S: "I cant get past it. He cant pretend it never happened, so until he raps a song about degrassi, i just cant support his music"
K: "I think that's fair.
K: "What if he says aboot in a song?"
S: "Well, that helps with admitting he is Canadian, but not the angsty soap opera part...and really that's what I care the most about."
S: "It bothers me that he refuses to talk about it, as if it didnt boost him to be able to even have his music career."
K: "It's like Timberlake pretending he was never on the Mouseketeer show"
S: "or in N'Sync...I think he likes to pretend that didnt happen either. I think I need to boycot him too. In fact, if you are unwilling to admit your horrific bad tv past, I cant listen to you anymore. Its my own form of protest."
K: "It's such a ridiculous principle to stand on."
S: "You know you love it, don't even lie."


Yep, these are the types of conversations we have. You know you are jealous of our ability to take on modern concepts and turn them into a protest...or at least my way of turning them into a protest...

No comments:

Post a Comment